Listen Listen – An Introduction to Sandy Denny

Listen Listen - An Introduction to Sandy Denny

This compilation was issued in the Island Records An Introduction To series. It has 17 tracks all taken from her four Island solo albums. The sleeve notes are by Patrick Humphries.

Artists: Sandy Denny
Released: June 1999 (UK)
Recorded: 1971 / 1973 / 1976
Recorded at: A&M Studios, Los Angeles
Basing Street Studios, London
CBS Studios, London
Island Studios, London
Sound Techniques, London

Length: 73:36
Label: Island Records Ltd.
Producer: Trevor Lucas
Sandy Denny
Richard Thompson
John Wood

Arranger: Sandy Denny
String Arrangement: Harry Robinson
Engineer: John Wood
Trevor Lucas

Assistant Engineer: Dave Jordan
Artwork: Noel Mayne (photographer)

All songs written by Sandy Denny except where noted.

  1. Late November – 4:28
  2. Blackwaterside (Traditional) – 4:07
  3. Next Time Around – 4:26
  4. Wretched Wilbur – 2:38
  5. The North Star Grassman and the Ravens – 3:27
  6. It’ll Take a Long Time – 5:13
  7. Listen, Listen – 3:58
  8. The Lady – 4:01
  9. The Music Weaver – 3:19
  10. Solo – 4:24
  11. Like an Old Fashioned Waltz – 4:09
  12. Dark the Night – 4:27
  13. No End – 6:36
  14. One Way Donkey Ride – 3:34
  15. I’m a Dreamer – 4:45
  16. All Our Days – 7:16
  17. No More Sad Refrains – 2:48

Clare Torry: backing vocals
Dave Mattacks: drums, brushes
Dave Pegg: bass
Dave Swarbrick: violin
Gerry Conway: drums
Ian Whiteman: piano, flute organ
Jean Roussel: organ
Jerry Donahue: electric guitar
John Bundrick: clavinet, electric piano, organ
Kay Garner: backing vocals
Pat Donaldson: bass
Pete Kleinow: pedal steel guitar
Richard Thompson: accordion, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, mandolin
Sandy Denny: vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, electric piano
Steve Winwood: organ, electric piano
Sue Glover: backing vocals
Sunny Leslie: backing vocals
Timi Donald: drums
Tony Reeves: bass
Trevor Lucas: acoustic guitar