It’s Sandy Denny

It's Sandy Denny

The album sleeve and spine only bear Sandy’s name, however the name on the record label is It’s Sandy Denny.

The album is a compilation of the songs that featured Sandy on lead vocals from the sessions for the SAGA LP’s Alex Campbell and His Friends and Sandy and Johnny. However, ‘The 3:10 to Yuma’, ‘Pretty Polly’, ‘Milk and Honey’, ‘The Last Thing on My Mind’, and ‘Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor’ are alternate recordings that were published on this LP for the first time (and later in 2005 on the CD Where the Time Goes). Allegedly Sandy felt the original SAGA recordings were too rough around the edges, so she re-recorded the tracks using exactly the same arrangements as the original versions. All the re-recorded tracks are musically and vocally superior interpretations.

Artists: Sandy Denny
Released: 1970 (UK)
Recorded: 1967 / 1969
Recorded at: Eros Records Studio, London
Length: 31:00
Label: Saga
Arranger: A. Johnson

Side A

  1. This Train (Traditional) – 2:05>
  2. 3:10 to Yuma (re-recorded version) (George Dunning, Ned Washington) – 3:19
  3. Pretty Polly (re-recorded version) (Traditional) – 2:35
  4. You Never Wanted Me (Jackson C. Frank) – 3:21
  5. Milk and Honey (re-recorded version) (Jackson C. Frank) – 4:26

Side B

  1. The Last Thing on My Mind (re-recorded version) (Tom Paxton) – 3:22
  2. Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor (re-recorded version) (Traditional) – 3:08
  3. The False Bride (Traditional) – 3:40
  4. Been on the Road So Long (Alex Campbell) – 5:04

David Moses: double bass
Sandy Denny: vocals, acoustic guitar