Gold Dust: Live at the Royalty

Gold Dust: Live at the Royalty

Sandy’s last concert, recorded at the Royalty Theatre in London on Sunday, 27th November, 1977.

Due to technical problems on the guitar and backing vocal tracks, most songs’ (except for tracks 7 & 13) guitars were re-recorded by Jerry Donahue and backing vocals were sung by Simon Nicol and Chris Leslie. Faults and deterioration on a number of tracks are noticeable on the original master reels, and it is clear that in the interests of continuity the decision was made to re-record most of the guitars, thereby preserving the feel of a live band with the same player on guitar. Overall the concert benefits from the re-recorded guitar parts and from being properly mixed. Rough ‘soundboard’ type mixdowns of a selection of tracks from this concert surfaced on two releases prior to the Island Records CD issue:

The Attic Tracks Volume 3 / First and Last Tracks (A cassette release by Australian Friends of Fairport, which contained: ‘Solo’, ‘North Star’, ‘Gold Dust’, ‘The Sea’, ‘Tomorrow Is a Long Time’, ‘Stranger to Himself’, ‘One More Chance’ and ‘Who Knows Where the Time Goes?’)


Sandy Denny, Trevor Lucas and Friends: The Attic Tracks 1972-1984 (A CD release of many of the best recordings from The Attic Tracks cassette releases, including three tracks from the Royalty concert: ‘Gold Dust’, ‘Stranger to Himself’ and ‘Who Knows Where the Time Goes?’)

The running order of the concert was changed for the Island release, and due to the running time restrictions of CDs, almost all Sandy’s chat had to be cut from the performance. The actual set list was performed as follows:

  1. Solo
  2. The North Star Grassman and the Ravens
  3. Nothing More
  4. Gold Dust
  5. I’m a Dreamer
  6. John the Gun
  7. The Sea
  8. It’ll Take a Long Time
  9. Tomorrow Is a Long Time
  10. The Lady
  11. Wretched Wilbur
  12. For Shame of Doing Wrong
  13. Stranger to Himself
  14. Take Me Away
  15. One More Chance
  16. Who Knows Where the Time Goes?
  17. No More Sad Refrains

Artists: Sandy Denny
Released: 18 May 1998 (UK)
Recorded: 1977 / 1998
Recorded at: Royalty Theatre, London
Length: 77:35
Label: Island Records Ltd.
Producer: Jerry Donahue
Jerry Boys

Executive Producer (Restoration): Trevor Wyatt
Recorded By: John Wood
Engineer: Jerry Boys
Mastering: Donal Whelan
Artwork: Cally at Antar (design)

All songs written by Sandy Denny except where noted.

  1. I Wish I Was a Fool for You (For Shame of Doing Wrong) (Richard Thompson) – 4:32
  2. Stranger to Himself – 3:45
  3. I’m a Dreamer – 4:53
  4. Take Me Away – 4:42
  5. Nothing More – 4:15
  6. The Sea – 5:10
  7. The Lady – 3:45
  8. Gold Dust – 3:53
  9. Solo – 4:46
  10. John the Gun – 4:47
  11. It’ll Take a Long Time – 4:59
  12. Wretched Wilbur – 2:59
  13. Tomorrow Is a Long Time (Bob Dylan) – 3:57
  14. The North Star Grassman and the Ravens – 3:46
  15. One More Chance – 8:21
  16. No More Sad Refrains – 2:27
  17. Who Knows Where the Times Goes? – 6:38

Chris Leslie: backing vocals
Dave Mattacks: drums
Jerry Donahue: electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Pat Donaldson: bass
Pete Wilshire: pedal steel guitar
Rob Hendry : electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Sandy Denny: vocals, piano, acoustic guitar
Simon Nicol: backing vocals
Trevor Lucas: acoustic guitar, tambourine, backing vocals