Rock On

Rock On

The Bunch was an ad hoc collection of “Fairport family” members gathered together to record a cover album of rock’n’roll songs. It was one of the first albums recorded at the newly-opened Manor Studios in Oxforsdshire run by Richard Branson. This LP also marked Trevor Lucas’ debut as a record producer.

The original run of the UK LP came with a flexi single inserted in the cover with the bonus track ‘Let There Be Drums’ (Island WI 4002).

Sandy was listed in the LP sleeve as being “Britain’s first lady of song, if you don’t count Dorothy Squires”.

Artists:The Bunch
Released:April 1972 (UK)
Recorded:1972 / 1971
Recorded at:The Manor, Oxfordshire
Label:Island Records Ltd.
Producer:Trevor Lucas

Side A

  1. Crazy Arms – 2:49
  2. That’ll Be the Day (Buddy Holly, Jerry Allison, Norman Petty) – 2:00
  3. Don’t Be Cruel (Elvis Presley, Otis Blackwell) – 3:02
  4. The Loco-Motion (Carole King, Gerry Goffin) – 3:00
  5. My Girl in the Month of May (Di Mucci) – 2:12
  6. Love’s Made a Fool of You (Bob Montgomery, Buddy Holly) – 3:07

Side B

  1. Willie and the Hand Jive (Johnny Otis) – 3:23
  2. Jambalaya (On the Bayou) – 3:25
  3. When Will I Be Loved? (Phil Everly) – 3:09
  4. Nadine – 3:20
  5. Sweet Little Rock & Roller – 3:28
  6. Learning the Game (Buddy Holly) – 2:07

Ashley Hutchings: vocals
Dave Mattacks: drums, congas
Gerry Conway: drums
Ian Whiteman: piano
Linda Thompson: backing vocals, vocals
Mike Rosen: trumpet
Pat Donaldson: bass, backing vocals
Richard Thompson: vocals, electric guitar, backing vocals, electric piano, guitar
Roger Bell: saxophone, piano
Sandy Denny: backing vocals, vocals
Tony Cox: piano
Trevor Lucas: vocals, acoustic guitar, 12-string