Rising for the Moon

Rising for the Moon

The famous producer Glyn Johns was brought in to produce Rising for the Moon. Creative differences led to the departure of Dave Mattacks, after the first round of sessions, who was then replaced by Bruce Rowlands.

Dave Mattacks: drums, percussion on [1, 2, 3, 8, 11]; Bruce Rowlands: drums, percussion on [4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10]

Artists:Fairport Convention
Released:July 1975 (UK)
Recorded:1974 / 1975
Recorded at:Olympic Studios, London
Label:Island Records Ltd.
Producer:Glyn Johns
Engineer:Glyn Johns
Assistant Engineer:Benny King
Artwork:Marion Appelton (design, photographer)

All songs written by Sandy Denny except where noted.
Side A

  1. Rising for the Moon – 4:09
  2. Restless (Pete Roche, Trevor Lucas) – 4:09
  3. White Dress (Dave Swarbrick) – 3:44
  4. Let It Go (Dave Pegg, Dave Swarbrick, Sandy Denny) – 2:01
  5. Stranger to Himself – 2:53
  6. What Is True? – 3:34

Side B

  1. Iron Lion (Trevor Lucas) – 3:28
  2. Dawn (Jerry Donahue, Sandy Denny) – 3:43
  3. After Halloween – 3:39
  4. Night-Time Girl (Dave Pegg, Dave Swarbrick) – 2:56
  5. One More Chance – 7:30

Bruce Rowland: drums
Dave Mattacks: drums, tambourine, percussion
Dave Pegg: bass, electric guitar, backing vocals
Dave Swarbrick: acoustic guitar, viola, violin, backing vocals, vocals, dulcimer, mandolin, autoharp
Jerry Donahue: electric guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar
Sandy Denny: vocals, electric piano, backing vocals, piano, acoustic guitar
Trevor Lucas: acoustic guitar, vocals, backing vocals