This is a collection of performances by Fairport Convention recorded for the BBC in 1968 and 1969.

Originally available as an unofficial cassette in 1976; circulated by Ashley Hutchings it could be purchased at FC gigs. It would later have an official release in 1987 on the Hannibal label. In 2002, Island Records re-released the compilation with eight more BBC recordings as bonus tracks. All the tracks on this release would later be issued on the 2007 4CD set Fairport Convention Live at the BBC.

Artists:Fairport Convention
Released:01 September 1987 (USA)
Recorded:1968 / 1969
Recorded at:BBC, London

  1. Close the Door Lightly When You Go (Eric Anderson) – 3:00
  2. I Don’t Know Where I Stand (Joni Mitchell) – 3:22
  3. Some Sweet Day (Boudleaux Bryant, Felice Bryant) – 2:11
  4. Reno Nevada (Richard FariƱa) – 2:15
  5. Suzanne (Leonard Cohen) – 5:16
  6. if It Feels Good, You Know It Can’t Be Right (Ashley Hutchings, Richard Thompson) – 3:08
  7. I Still Miss Someone (Johnny Cash, Roy Cash Jnr.) – 2:16
  8. Bird on a Wire (Leonard Cohen) – 3:17
  9. Gone, Gone, Gone (Don Everly, Phil Everly) – 2:00
  10. Tried So Hard (Gene Clark) – 2:34
  11. Shattering Live Experience (Simon Nicol) – 3:16
  12. Percy’s Song (Bob Dylan) – 5:17

Ashley Hutchings: bass, kazoo, backing vocals
Iain Matthews: vocals, backing vocals
Martin Lamble: drums
Richard Thompson: electric guitar, slide guitar, vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, dulcimer
Sandy Denny: vocals, backing vocals
Simon Nicol:acoustic guitar, electric guitar, backing vocals, organ